University of Wisconsin Press colophon





University of Wisconsin Madison crest that links to main university site

Association of University Presses member logo that links to main AUPresses site



Home / Books


The University of Wisconsin Press awards the Brittingham Prize in Poetry and the Felix Pollak Prize in Poetry. Each winning poet will receive a $1,500 cash prize and publication by the University of Wisconsin Press. Prizes are awarded annually to the two best book-length manuscripts of original poetry submitted in an open competition. Each manuscript submitted will be considered for both prizes. There are no restrictions on the kind of poetry or subject matter, although translations are not acceptable. The winners will be announced and the prizes awarded in February of each calendar year, with publishing contracts to follow soon thereafter.


Poets must submit their manuscripts electronically by using our submission manager.


Manuscripts submitted electronically from July 15 through September 15th of each calendar year will be considered. Manuscripts received before July 15th or after September 15th will be ineligible.


  • Manuscripts must be typed single-spaced with a double space between stanzas.
  • The manuscript must be previously unpublished in book form. Poems published in journals, chapbooks, and anthologies may be included but must be acknowledged.
  • No changes in the manuscript will be considered between submission and acceptance.
  • A $28.00 non-refundable reading fee must accompany each manuscript, and covers entry to both prizes.
  • Simultaneous submissions to other contests are permitted provided the poet agrees to inform the Press of the manuscript's acceptance for publication elsewhere.


Qualified readers appointed by the press will screen all manuscripts anonymously. Brittingham and Felix Pollak prize winners will be selected by a distinguished outside judge. Four Lakes prize winners (for poets previously published in the series) along with two or three other finalists will be selected by the series editors for publication.

Send all questions to the series editors, Ron Wallace and Sean Bishop: and