The University of Wisconsin Press


Art / Art History




The Prints of Warrington Colescott
A Catalogue Raisonné, 1948–2008
Mary Weaver Chapin
Foreword by Daniel T. Keegan


A master printmaker and a satirist in the tradition of Hogarth, Goya, Daumier, and Grosz


Finalist, Arts Book, Midwest Book Awards

Since the 1940s, printmaker Warrington Colescott has trained his brilliant artistic eye on the fashions and foibles of human behavior. A satirist in the tradition of William Hogarth, Francisco Goya, Honoré Daumier, and George Grosz, Colescott utilizes his sharp wit and vivid imagination to interpret contemporary and historical events, from the personal to the public, the local to the international. He is especially noted for his exceptional command of complex printmaking techniques and for his innovative approach to intaglio printing.

           
The Prints of Warrington Colescott: A Catalogue Raisonné, 1948–2008 is the first fully illustrated catalogue to document Colescott’s extensive and varied graphic career. Author and curator Mary Weaver Chapin has worked closely with Colescott, interviewed him at length, and had unique access to his private papers and archives. She documents his personal and artistic life in a detailed biographic sketch, and her extensive essay “Research Printmaker and Mad-Dog
Attack Artist” examines the evolution of his printmaking career, focusing on his technique, iconography, and his place in American printmaking. The catalogue documents and depicts all 354 of Colescott’s editioned prints, providing title, date, media, dimensions, and selected exhibition history and collections for each print, along with comments and anecdotes by Chapin and Colescott.

           

Warrington Colescott (b. 1921) was born and educated in California. He served in the anti-aircraft

artillery and the infantry during World War II and was professor of art at the University of Wisconsin –Madison from 1949 to 1986. His work is in the permanent collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, National Gallery of Art, Art Institute of Chicago, Museum of Modern Art, Milwaukee Art Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Tate Modern, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, and many other museums. Colescott is still actively making art in his home studio in Hollandale, Wisconsin. He is coauthor, with Art Hove, of the book Progressive Printmakers: Wisconsin Artists and the Print Renaissance, also published by the University of Wisconsin Press.

Mary Weaver Chapin
is associate curator of prints and drawings at the Milwaukee Art Museum and has also worked at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Art Institute of Chicago. She is coauthor of the exhibition catalogue Toulouse-Lautrec and
Montmartre.

Published in collaboration with the Milwaukee Art Museum.

Inquiries regarding review copies, events, and interviews can be directed to the publicity department at publicity@uwpress.wisc.edu or (608) 263-0734.

The cover of the Colescott catalogue is illustrated with a detail from one of his prints. Shown is a Minotaur, bursting out of his cage in front of a Picasso figure with a camera.

March 2010
LC: 2009010514 NE
352 pp.   9 1/2 x 12 1/2
415 color illus.

Book icon
Cloth $85.00 t
ISBN 978-0-299-23300-6
Shopping cart ADD TO CART
  Review cart contents
Secure checkout

• This book is the companion to the Milwaukee Art Museum's exhibition "Warrington Colescott: Cabaret, Comedy, and Satire." The exhibit opens Thursday, June 10, 2010 and runs through September 26, 2010.
Visit www.mam.org for more details.



“Colescott is one of the most fortunate and revered artists of his generation, who has excelled as a teacher, an influential artist, and a contributor to the critical mass of modern print history.”
—Mark Pascale, Curator in the Department of Prints and Drawings, The Art Institute of Chicago

 

Home | Books | Journals | Events | Textbooks | Authors | Related | Search | Order | Contact

If you have trouble accessing any page in this web site, contact our Web manager.
E-mail: webmaster@uwpress.wisc.edu

Updated May 2, 2012

© 2012, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System