The University of Wisconsin Press

Dance / Theater / Music / European History


The Brecht Yearbook / Das Brecht-Jahrbuch, Volume 29
Edited by Marc Silberman and Florian Vassen
Stephen Brockmann, Managing Editor

The Brecht Yearbooks

One of the most radical, controversial works ever created by playwright Bertolt Brecht and composer Kurt Weill, the opera The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny is a devastating critique of capitalism. This volume includes twenty-nine essays in English and German that address Mahagonny from multiple perspectives: context, text, utopia, music, and the continuing influence of this opera more than three quarters of a century after its creation. The volume also contains original material by Brecht and an essay on Brecht in India.

Marc Silberman is professor and chair of the Department of German at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Florian Vassen is professor of German at Universität Hannover. Stephen Brockmann is associate professor of German at Carnegie Mellon University.

Distributed for the International Brecht Society

Media & bookseller inquiries regarding review copies, events, and interviews can be directed to the publicity department at or (608) 263-0734. (If you want to examine a book for possible course use, please see our Course Books page. If you want to examine a book for possible rights licensing, please see Rights & Permissions.)

cover of Brecht Yearbook 29 is a black and white photo of a scene from one of the plays. A woman sits, weeping, with her head on the knee of a man, sitting in a chair. The man appears to be conflicts. His hands are not seen, behind the chairs back.

October 2004
500 pp.  6 x 9
12 b/w illus.
In English and German

ISSN 0734-8665

Book icon
Paper $39.00 s
ISBN 978-0-9718963-2-1
Shopping cart ADD TO CART
  Review cart contents
Secure checkout



Home | Books | Journals | Events | Textbooks | Authors | Related | Search | Order | Contact

If you have trouble accessing any page in this web site, contact our Web manager.

Updated October 11, 2011

© 2011, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System